2007-02-26

entryus interuptus!

Really not much going on. This seems to be a re-occuring theme.

Work, work, work. Oh, sorry, that should read "work", "work", "work"...as the UN (and when in doubt, look to the UN definition of something, I always say) defines the word :work:, roughly, as tasks done in exchange for money.

This week involved the typical new workplace cult-indoctrination, otherwise known as orientation. It was actually pretty interesting, but at the same time, the same old thing.

Saturday I came home and basically couldn't get off the couch, due to some hard-ass physical tasks I did all day. I called Connor to moan and he, being the nice guy that he is, said that he was going to drop by anyway since he would be in the neighbourhood. So he came and babied me while we watched hockey for a while.

I went in to the hotel Sunday as well and was anticipating a repeat of Saturday, task wise, but was pleasantly suprised with an easy day.

I think it's a sign that I'm an academic when I start planning my master's thesis on the way to work. For the record: A sociological study of housekeeping employees from a multi-cultural standpoint.

So sunday was pleasantly non-stressful, I even made progress on my "pot pourri servicing" project.

Roomie and I had planned a massive gathering of random people (asian exchange roommate and brother and friend, regular amazing race ladies, connor, roomie and I) but for various reasons it ended up being Roomie, Connor, Heather and I. Fun times had by all with the amazing race, oscars and soooo much good food.

Roomie was emploring me to help and I was moving as slowly as possible towards the kitchen when the phone rang, signaling Connor's arrival downstairs, thus saving me from any difficult or complicated tasks. I made bacon, ice cream sandwhiches and closed re-sealable bags of cheese and radishes.

We hung out until late (ok..like 1015) and then Connor went home and I went to bed.

I slept in this morning and declared it a snow day. Now, don't get me wrong, I had the day off, but it's funner to declare it a snow day. I orignially had thought about asking for tomorrow off so that I could watch the NHL trade deadline unfold on tsn but it's not shaping up to be such a big deal.

I did some laundry (strangely busy for a monday morning), did some dishes, bagged some recycling, didn't clean up my room and ate leftovers (mmmm burgers with guacamole) and I've watched some movies.

My parents are supposedly dropping my brother at the train around 4 to send him back to school so they were supposed to call me and ...the phone rang right as I was typing that and I just let someone up. If I don't post again tonight, call the RCMP!

moi at 3:57 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far