2006-06-22

I got Nuthin'

Today we had training about how to properly answer the phone at work.
It was actually really great and helpful, too bad I've already been working there a month and a half!!
I've been "shopped" three times and have an average score of about 70% which isn't as bad as it sounds.
The trainer had some really good insights about how to add more value to the calls (aka, to actually show customer service) so hopefully the clerks who were at the training will actually start to do that as opposed to not caring.
We learned that calls should be more "conversational" as opposed to "transactional" which is a good way of thinking about it.
The company that does our customer service training has a system where you can call an actual person who will do a fake training call with you and then tell you what you did wrong and right.
I feel like I might be calling it alot because I like alot of feedback about what I'm doing seeing as my supervisors go with the "no news is good news" theory of employee evaluation.

The best part of the training for me was when the trainer called some other hotels in the area so that we could compare the way that they answer the phone to our training. Let's just say that we are looking pretty good in comparison and if people really are calling around and comparison shopping as much as they say that they are then they're being quite foolish indeed not to book with us.

One of the hotels was sold out for one of the days we asked for and the clerk replied "I got nuthin", thus the title of this entry.

moi at 11:18 a.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far