2006-08-17

selling out a thursday? how random

Yesterday I worked from 10am until 10pm and agreed (like a sucker) to take a shift for a co-worker today from 8-4 but at least I now have 2 days off.

when I got to work we had somewhere around 30 rooms left for thursday night. By the time I left at 4 pm we had sold all but 6 of them. This is pretty impressive, especially at a resort that is usually slow during the week...but I digress.

Since I usually work 2-10 I rarely do check outs since check out is at 11am. I did about 30 today. The drawback of being the only staff on when a manager is the other clerk is that they have paper work stuff to do so I was pretty much on my own and there was no 10-6 worker on today.
Among the check outs were a few grads of my small, cultish east coast university who got a good deal on a room, a lady who said that her bathroom was dirty (but who never let us know) and many people looking to extend their stay another day who were then upset when their room wasn't magically available tonight.

Also, a little word of advice (as I so often have): If you just want information about a hotel or resort, don't go between 10 and 1130 or 3 and 5 because during these times the front desk is very busy and the clerks won't have alot of time to devote to telling you about their 15 different room and rate offerings.

The managers were doing the paper work for our commission cheques the other day so hope springs eternal that the july commissions will be with Tuesday next's pay.

so basically today the phone rang off the hook and the lobby was never empty of people.

today's plea to the public: please please please think of the worst case senario that your room could be and ask the reservation agent about it. If you are paranoid of your children falling down stairs, ask for a ground floor room!

moi at 7:36 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far