2006-08-20

Boredom interspursed with excitement

Well tonight was pretty dead, actually.
We picked up about 6 rooms of walk-ins which isn't bad for a sunday and makes me 5 dollars for each of them on my august bonus cheque. I also had a flury of reservations right at the start of my shift which probably netted me about 75$ in commission.yay!

Two interesting occurances today:
A girl calls and wants our best room for a week. She's just eloped and is on her imprompty honeymoon. Starting today. Well, those rooms aren't really free for a whole week randomly but I figure out how it could sort of work by moving some other people in the system. Things are complicated by the fact that there is a 1 day overnight conference in on tuesday who have booked basically all of the nice rooms.
It turns out that she doesn't want our nicest room, she just wants something with a jacuzzi which actually complicates things even more because those rooms are more popular. so it ended up that she is in a room for sunday monday, a different room tuesday then back to the room she is in wednesday and thursday then a random non-jacuzzi room for the weekend. It's going to be a huge pain in the ass.

The other interesting occurance was when the owner's fugitive son called to ask for a friend of his to get the best room at the staff rate. I said "uh..ok" but was then informed by the girl I was working with that I actually don't have the authority to give out the staff rate (which is fine with me, whatever) and so when he called back I told him that I had been informed that policy was that I couldn't do the staff rate on the request of just a random voice on the phone and that I had to hear from my manager or from the owner himself or his wife.
Well, the son wasn't impressed but was actually sympathetic to my position of having to follow policy. Eventually his mom called and gave the go-ahead but it was a bit of excitement.

Tuesday is the only busy day this week, so that's good. I actually get wednesday and thursday off but work days friday and saturday which kind of sucks. oh well.

oh, and I also used the resort fax machine to fax something to school so I hope they don't fax anything back to me. eek.

moi at 11:48 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far