2006-09-18

ikeapalooza

well I'm stuck in peer tutoring purgatory. I'm sitting in a computer lab where the only people who ask for help are actually asking the wrong people, wearing a fleece vest which does absolutely nothing for me, wardrobe wise, and trying to think of ways to kill time on a computer that is oriented to face the entire lab.

In other news,spent all of yesterday putting together Ikea that the roomie and I fetched in an all afternoon oddesy of fun-ness. Thank goodness we got the big stuff delivered.

School wise things are starting to heat up, with our first assignment due this friday for special events class, a description of 3 different events that I have attended/know of and different things about them. Worth 15% of my total mark...or something. woop-de-doo.

Other than that, today looks like this:
-Get up at 7 to get to school for 8:30.
-Go and attempt to fetch vest from peer tutoring office (not open yet)
-Go to general information area to see if my bursary money is in yet. They claim it is so I wait in line for 15 minutes only to be told that they can't give it to me until tomorrow.
-Go to peer tutoring and get vest. Despite saying that they will email us when the name tags are ready and then having actually e-mailed to say "come and pick up your name tag" they are not ready.
-Report to the computer lab for my 2 hours of work.
-Have an hour off
-Human Resources management class for 2 hours.
-Hour off
-Work in the lab (yes, again) for 2 hours.
-Leave at 4:15 and attempt to navigate traffic home on the bus and subway, smack in the middle of rush hour. houray.
-Probably get take out on the way home because roomie is going out to dinner with her mom (who is in town to see the ring cycle) tonight and I declined her invitation to join them.
-collapse from a post-ikea assembly induced total body collapse.

If anyone is interested I assembled
http://www.ikea.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?topcategoryId=15561&catalogId=10103&storeId=3&productId=55287&langId=-15&categoryId=15643&chosenPartNumber=90087579

and

http://www.ikea.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?topcategoryId=15561&catalogId=10103&storeId=3&productId=26617&langId=-15&categoryId=15643&chosenPartNumber=40033862

between the hours of 11:20am (delivery time) and 6:30pm, most of it solo and with only one minor setback involving screw locks which turned out to actually be fine, as roomie was doing a fantastic job readying the apartment and generally taking care of me. (bargain of the century, I did Ikea, she did my laundry and cleaned my room).

moi at 9:57 a.m.

previous | next

2 comments so far