2006-10-01

I can feel my arteries clogging

Friday night roomie and I decided to go out for dinner, which was lovely. We have certainly been eating out more this year, which, once we remember to buy less food to make up for it, will have less of an impact on the old pocketbook.

Actually, back up. My parents were in town on Wednesday for a memorial service so they met me on my way home from school and we went to the keg mansion for dinner. No, I don't like steak, but 2 appetizers for dinner never hurt anyone. The service was above average but not amazing (they forgot to tell us the specials, took my OJ away before I was actually done, etc) but the highlight of the evening was a woman at an adjacent table with the worst table manners I have ever seen anyone have the balls to display in public. She was reasonably attractive, on a date with a reasonably attractive guy, but we couldn't stop looking at her. Eating with her hands, cutting things and then pushing the remnants off her knife into a little pile and then scooping it up with her knife and eating it off the knife. Using the "stand up base" motion to cut her meat, etc. etc. There were a dozen reasons we couldn't stop watching her, not the least of which was that my mother has started yet another business, this time one where she teaches executives table manners.

So then Friday roomie and I tried a new restaurant called "sambuka" which is just south of Wellesley on Church. (For anyone who doesn't know Toronto, this is in the epicenter of the gay village and therefore a neighborhood that likes to go out to eat but where word travels fast if you're no good). We had seen the cast and crew of "Restaurant Makeover" outside earlier in the week and could not, for the life of us, remember what was there before so we decided to try in out in case we ever saw it on TV.

Roomie had the soup appetizer and I had the muscles. Not bad at all. Main courses, roomie had the pasta (which there wasn't a lot of, leading her to get pizza later in the night) and I tempted fate by having spinach and goat cheese stuffed chicken, which was good and a larger portion than the pasta. The entire experience would have been unremarkable if it were not for the 6 foot tall painting of Gwyneth Paltrow peering down over our table, featuring Ms. Paltrow both in portrait pose in a stylized Vogue cover shot, and Ms. Paltrow in recline, fully nude. Now, I've seen Great Expectations, so it's not like I haven�t seen her naked before, but really, it was a bit much.

I wore my doc martens that I bought in England and have never been able to break in and now have a blister the size of a dime on the back of my ankle, which sucks because the crap food extravaganza that ended up being Saturday means I should be spending some serious time in the gym. Oh well.

After we left I bought roomie $4 worth of ice cream in exchange for her once again doing my laundry. Yay!

Saturday I woke up and went to the sketchy no-frills and managed to fit a redonkulous amount of groceries into my backpack. Came home to roomie having ambitious plans for dinner. They didn't pan out (yes, it was chicken) so we went for sushi to a different place than we usually go, which was also good. Moi=bento box with beef. Roomie=seaweed salad, rolls, tempura plate. We had a rather loud (for the circumstances) conversation about the couple speaking Spanish at the table next to us that in retrospect we probably should have carried on in French or something. Seeing as I couldn't even recognize it as Spanish, I apparently speak way less Spanish than I thought (which was precious little to begin with). After dinner we went to check out the new Sobey's Express which is a block south of Wellesley on Yonge. This could be very dangerous. I forgot how much I like sobeys. It's about a half sized supermarket but with lots of prepared stuff, dips, spreads and samples of chocolate chip cookies that I had to reach on my tip toes because roomie was concerned that they were going to cut her off. We then went to just desserts where I had peanut butter chocolate somethingsomething. Yesterday I ate the biggest assortment of crap food ever.

On the way home I detoured to look into this nuit blanche thing that was supposed to be going on at the national ballet school which is just a few blocks south of the apartment. I expected it to be way cool, as the literature proclaimed that they would be projecting ballet onto the glass wall that opens up into the rehearsal space for the ballet company. Instead it was just still images on a screen and looked like something they would have there any time the building was closed.

moi at 10:47 a.m.

previous | next

1 comments so far