2006-10-01

[rant] [/end rant]

So here is one of my pet peeves.
People who use "gay" and "retarded" to describe things that are, in reality, neither of those things.

I think that, like internet short hand, I consider using the labels of marginalized groups as adjectives to be a factor in my determining how much credit to give someone in life.

If you'll follow me through a corollary with the amazing race. There are currently 2 contestants who are rural coal miner and his wife. While they have lived sheltered lives in terms of travel, education (presumably), dental hygiene and exposure to alternative lifestyles, they remain open minded and attempt to be kind to those with whom they come in contact.

This, as opposed to some of the people in my classes, who insist on labeling homework "gay", "retarded" and so on. Now, I'm not gay, so I can't really say, but I think if I was I would be offended. To me, making comments like that speaks to an insensitivity towards the people who might be listening and a lack of respect for their possible personal situations.

[/end rant]

In other news, not much going on here. I'm slowly starting to do the research I need to do for my rate plan for revenue management. I've picked up an ESL peer tutee so that should be interesting. I thought I had a lead on a job but it is full time so I wouldn't be able to take it, which sucks because it was at the hotel just down the street.

moi at 10:34 a.m.

previous | next

1 comments so far