2006-10-29

all you have to do is sit there.

Alright, where did we leave off? Oh yes.

It's been a while so I'll try to hit the high (or low) points.

Tuesday night was the awards ceremony, which started like a half an hour late. I stood in line with this guy who I know from a club I belong to who basically was going on and on about how much of a waste it was and how he doesn't bother to come to school,etc etc and then he goes and wins the dean's award...which bugged me, but whatever.

My mom ended up being really sick so only my dad came, which was fine, seeing as I didn't really get to talk to him at all anyway. Though my mom would have been good for making judgmental comments about people taking their purses up to the stage to get awards and things like that.

Wednesday I stayed home to work on my special events project. I was actually really excited about it. I did a golf fundraiser with little golf games, a menu based around the regional cuisine of famous golf courses, etc etc. If anyone wants actual details, just let me know.

Thursday I went to class and encountered hostility from my group members about "leaving" the bake sale on Tuesday. Let me just outline the situation. I'm a group leader. There is a sub group who are in charge of pre-event fundraising. My management style can basically be summed up as "Appoint people, let them do their thing, support if needed but basically trust them to be competent". I don't know if it is because they are used to being helped along at every turn or what but they are actually competent. As well, the other team leader was there for the bake sale. Now, admittedly, the bake sale was a bit of a bust. And this sub-group has been totally jerked around my the student's union people in regards to booking tables and things like that.
Anyway, so jumping forward to Friday, basically the girl in charge of pre-event fundraising says that they are booking a table for the 7th of November and EVERYONE (looking directly at me) should be there to help. Except that half of our group wasn't there when she said it. And I had booked that day to go and spend the day at the royal winter fair. So, while I should go to school and help them, at the same time, it seems weird to have 15 people sitting around a table selling lollipops. To complicate matters further I was explaining the situation to my mom and while I wanted her to basically say "screw them, that's ridiculous, you shouldn't have to micro-manage" she was like "well, you'll have to skip going to the fair then" which was really not helpful.

Backing up to Thursday, got my revenue management test back (96%) so that was good, and had a big class discussion with my Starting Your Own Business teacher about how he can improve the learning experience in our class. So now he is going to go over the assignment questions before we have to do them and actually give us our tests to review while he goes over the correct answers. Oh, and my Saskatchewan point ended up being moot, sadly.

Friday I got my marketing assignment back. I got an 86% but totally bombed the middle section so I guess that's good but I'm peeved because if I had done it correctly I could have gotten a way better mark.

Friday we already did.

Saturday I went on a big walk around to various shopping stops (chapters, shoppers, the dvd store, the library) and then came home and watched tv for most of the afternoon. Roomie came home and starting cooking for her friend coming over at 645.

The menu was ambitious but in no way beyond roomie's vast abilities as a cook/chef. I feel pretty gross all afternoon so I sort of abandoned her for a bit to have a nap and was only minimally helpful (which is sometimes a good thing). Her friend (who had previously bailed out of another dinner party) called to say that she was running late, which we later thought might have been an attempt to get out of this one.

There were a few small mis-interpretations with the recepies but overall things were essentially ok. So her friend shows up and basically, even though roomie has crafted a vegetarian meal for her, she eats nothing and is kind of obvious about it. For me, politeness would dictate that if you go somewhere for dinner and it ends up being not to your liking, you claim you had a big lunch, eat minimally whatever you can choke down and then go for pizza on the way home. Because she was being so forward about not eating anything and everything basically being not to her liking, roomie offered to order pizza, which guest jumped on like a starving person at sea. Oh, and she had forgotten her wallet so she didn't even kick in for the pizza.
Now, ostensibly she was coming over sort of during the leafs game, so that we would semi have something to talk about. When the game ended, she just....stayed.
Even though roomie mentioned a few times that she had an early morning (like 5am) the next day and wanted to go to bed.
So finally we basically kicked guest out...it was just really weird and socially awkward.

so yeah...that's the update. I'll try to be more regular about it in the future, this week was just really busy and Friday was a shitteous day. I've done so much work for this project, including the entire proposal, twice, and it's just frustrating. At the same time, I guarantee that no one else is stressing about it this much, and ultimately there will be other people who won't show up next tuesday either.

moi at 10:21 a.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far