2006-10-31

I don't want to fight about it, I just want to be about it

My favorite computer lab on campus has been tricked out with new keyboards!
woot!

Yesterday was busy busy busy. After a Sunday night race fest with the girls and a super yummy dinner I woke up at 7 so that I could get to school at 9 and start sitting in the massive computer lab and help people save things in word for $10 an hour.
I then had 1:1 tutoring with this amazingly cool Taiwanese girl, which I did in the lab and yes, I will be billing the peer tutoring department for both time blocks.

At 11 I went to meet with my internship co-ordinator to basically declare my intentions about gunning for what will probably be the most difficult internships to get placed at. She seemed cautiously optimistic that I would be successful in at least getting to the interview stage.

So I went to the career centre to have them look at my resume (which, by my own admission was way too long at 3 pages) but they suggested that I cut out things like the fact that I have the highest average in my program. I was skeptical.

Luckily, my next class was human resources for hospitality. I asked my prof if I could pay him to go over my resume but he said that he would just do it for free after class (he's such a nice guy). So after class I ran over to a first semester accounting class to give them a little song and dance about peer tutoring, which is sort of in a way shooting myself in the foot because it means more work but it also means money. I like money.

After that I went to see my HR prof and he had some really good suggestions which I'm working on today and then hopefully going to either track him down this afternoon or tomorrow. They aren't due until November 17th, and while early interest is a criteria, so is having a kick ass resume and cover letter.

After meeting with my HR prof I went back to the computer lab until 330 for another period of sitting and doing nothing while getting paid. I then had a meeting of this association of which I am a member which relates only peripherally to what I want to do with my life but they have good scholarship opportunities and it looks good on my resume. I'm in charge of the newsletter.

After the meeting my friend Amy drove me home and we generally commiserated about our respective special events groups. I actually have it pretty good. Got home and watched the leafs in a pretty entertaining game, thrashing Atlanta (god I'm clever).

Today I am sticking around until 230pm to hear the director of sales for a major hotel chain speak to the post grad program, to which I was invited by the accounting teacher from yesterday. Not only will it be interesting, but one of the internships I'm applying for is in the sales office so I can learn about what I should put on my resume for that position.

Oh, and I mentioned not being at school next Tuesday for the potential raffle and it doesn't look like its going to be a problem because they don't even know if they have a table yet and depending on what the other people in the group were thinking as far as actually showing up, we might just move it to Wednesday.

For some reason when I type in diaryland and then copy and paste over to work to spell check and then copy and paste back my apostrophes get converted to question marks. help? anyone? I'm currently obsessed with a few songs, I would recommend checking them out.

"Keep your hands off my girl" by Good Charlotte. Reminds me very much of that song from like 4 years ago "Going the Distance". Not as "yelly yelly angst" as GC usually comes up with.

"Better than me" by Hinder. Sort of Nickelback light.

"My Girlfriend's Daughter" by The Brett Rosenberg Problem. I had to actually buy it off of itunes for $0.99 but if you can find it somewhere, it's awesome. Sort of ironic playful John Mayer style.


In reply to a reader question, the chocolate chip banana loaf with walnuts was really good :)

moi at 10:53 a.m.

previous | next

1 comments so far