2006-12-03

It's a mizrahi miracle!

What a great weekend so far. Ah, the balm of retail.

Friday night roomie and I hung around the apartment eating gourmet cookies.

Saturday I woke up, sort of lazed around and read for the morning and then headed out to Sherway with my image consultant (yeah..I know. Writing that made me wince with bourgeois shame). I promptly pronounced our day a "mission" and thus was in a much better frame of mind than I would have been if someone had said "and now we're going to shop for 6 hours".

It turns out that I'm in a weird size catagory between plus sized (where everything is fucking ugly and the sales people are weird and creepy) and "normal people" sizing. I blame designers, frankly, because I can't be the only one and they are, as my revenue management teacher is fond of saying "leaving money on the table" by not making clothes that fit me. And trust me, there was money spent.

We ended up getting most of the stuff at Jones New York with this very excellent sales lady who got really into helping us, so that was fun.

Jones New York Tally:
2 cashmere t-shirts, deep sky blue (or so I'm told) and purple.
1 fited jean jacket that I actually like, but in a very different way than I like my ripped up old one I got second hand. This one is "nicer"
1 grey (I thought it was green, which became a running joke for the rest of the day) blazer type dealie with a Nehru collar (the one design element I know) and no buttons (which we decided was the key, as opposed to trying to find things with buttons that would actually button. Big boobs = both a blessing and a curse).
1 pair black dress pants with funny sort of belt closure thing.
1 black skirt 1 black tank topey type thing.

I think that was it. It was all 30% off, which was awesome.

We also went to this weird store called..Masqurade Ball..or something. They sold Mexx stuff. Mexx always makes me think of my ex-sort of boyfriend from when we were 4, because he wears alot of it. Anyway, the Masqurade store tally:

2 tops (one red, one greeney) which are weird and sound lame but look cool. They are big scoop neck, short sleeved and very billowey but with elastic at the bottom so they stay where you put them. Extreme on sale.
1 skirt (the only clothing we bought all day that was full price)which is kind of grey/brown (it took 3 of us, the saleslady, image consultant and I to decide this) which is straight at the front and then has sort of a gather with a tie at the back. Sounds weird, makes me look fabulous.

We also got shoes (black leather sort of ballet wedges), a necklace (3 circles which are diamonds on one side and plain silver on the other. Pretty.), a purse (who's shocked?? no one, I hope, or else you really don't know me. It's plain black leather, a business purse. I like it. It was on sale.)

We started at 3pm and were done at 915.
Then I took the bus home, waiting for someone to jack me of my purchases.
Went to McDonalds for hypoglycemic reasons (yes...of course) and then came home and ate it sitting on my bed in my pjs talking to connor.

Sunday, I woke up at 8 to watch dirty jobs and eat bacon that roomie had made for herself and was kind enough to leave me 2 pieces of before she left for work at 5am. I did work on and off this morning (Currently on the books: Timeline and event agenda for event documentation binder for the HeatWave event; An executive summery for the Airport Hotel Business Plan; An event map and risk management assessment for "Loyalist Days" an event I've dreamed up for the town by my cottage for events class; An article responce for revenue management. Plus, you know, studying and interviews).

After checking the TV line up today I determined the following plan:
1pm- Watch the first 20 minutes of "How Not To Decorate" (that's the best part, really). Then go to the bank, starbucks and for japanese take out, as dinner tonight will be after 7 sometime.
2pm - Start of Dirty Jobs 2 hour 100th job edition to be watched while enjoying take out.
4pm - Clean Room ( you know, continuing the dirty jobs theme)
5pm - Watch the second disc of Clerks:The Animated Series that connor lent me.
7pm - Roomie comes home and we have dinner that we've ordered/ scrounged. Heather may or may not be joining us.
8pm - Amazing Race
9pm - So You Think You Can Dance
10 pm - bed.

Tomorrow is my last day in the computer lab for peer tutoring, my interview at hotel x and Roomie's Birthday. I already have all the gifts that she is getting tomorrow (I think) plus we're going out for dinner after my interview (or so goes the plan).

Oh, and because I was a polysci major I should probably mention the current political happenings. To totally plagerize Rick Mercer (who I once sat behind on a flight to halifax meaning clearly that I am basically famous) "The Liberals went into this convention with a host of choices. They could have gone with a battle-tested politician, a former athlete, a world famous academic or a food bank founder from the West; at the end of the day they choose the nerd. That's pretty Canadian."

moi at 3:02 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far