2006-12-28

blog 451 ... now with RSS feed!

I'm watching Rachel Ray.

I think the problem was that on 30 minute meals, she had to talk the entire time to fill the air. Then, when they gave her a talk show, she did the same thing...except that there was another person who was supposed to be the one talking as well and she got all confused or something.

Hmmmmm...how to do the christmas summary without sounding ungreatful...(which I'm not, which is why I want to avoid sounding that way).
Things are actually looking ok, I've managed to tactfully figure out how to get the gifts that I didn't like exchanged (where possible) or been validated by others in my opinion that they are totally unsuitable and good only for tasks such as wiping the dog's paws after she comes in from walking on the wet grass.

Hilights:
Kate Spade tote bag in navy with orange handlges that says "Kate" on one side and "spade" on the other. Guess which side I'm more excited about :)

Burbery scarf and glove set. The scarf is rediculously soft and the perfect length. Sadly the velcro from my ski jacket (never skiied a day in my life) is kind of ripping it up. And the gloves were sent from holt's with the security tag still in them, so that's going to involve my mom spinning a story of epic proportion to get them to take it off without thinking we have just grabbed them off the shelf.

New Coat. Not technically a christmas gift, but bought for me at the boxing day sale on the 27th. It's semi puffy, long, black with grey stitching, much more "formal" than my ski jacket and I don't have a "nice" winter coat, so yay.

Cheques and chapters gift cards which, thanks to the lovely Connor, will be going 30% further.

A book on towel origami from my uncle, who in the past has produced such genius gifts as a kleenex box that looks like a statue from Easter Island, Freudian Slippers (slippers with small stuffed busts of Freud on them) and a mug that has a map of the world on it where the effects of global warning occur in dramatic fashion when you pour a hot liquid in it. Until it stopped working for some reason. Anyway, the book was cool. They also gave me make-up from Victoria's Secret.

My brother got me a book about the history of handbags. Hilarious!

So now mom and I are basically shopping every day, returning stuff, spending our christmas money until I go back to toronto on the 31st.

Roomie and I are going to have a super low key (basically only her and I and maaaaaaybe Connor although it seems doubtful) new year's "party" involving fancy cheese and other delights.

Then I'm going to spend the week cleaning my room, organizing for the intense school month of January, maybe going up to school to get books (well, it's only 1 book but I don't want to have to deal with the book store on the first day of school) and other various diversions....like shopping.

When did I turn materialistic? Oh right...when I gave away all of my clothes.

moi at 9:35 a.m.

previous | next

1 comments so far