2006-12-29

questions make me feel famous

Scammed from the roomie :

1. What did you do in 2006 that you'd never done before?
-Had a (so far) non-disfunctional relationship
-Done something about moving past getting away with looking like crap because I'm a student

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions from last year? Will you make more for the upcoming new year?
-I can't honestly remember what they were, although they probably involved losing weight and therefore the answer would be no
-I will make more...involving continued progress in the area of my image, career aspirations, personal appearance and streamlining my personal belongings

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
-Nope.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
-Also no, well, my step-grandfather. But I didn't go the funeral and it was one of those situations where it was for the best.

5. What countries did you visit?
-The United States, Canada...I think that's it. Kind of sad really.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
-A commitment to be neater and more grown up

7. What date from 2006 will remain etched in your memory and why?
-I assume that this means "day on the calander" as opposed to "romantic encounter with the sex to whom you find yourself romantically/physically attracted". If this is true, then the answer is none. If it is not, then I have 4 words : chicken wings, sorta thing.

8. What was your biggest achievement for the year?
-um...throwing out/giving away everything that made me look like crap? Getting highest average/full scholarship/other ultimately meaningless academic acomplishments? Securing my internship?

9. What was your biggest failure?
-uh...not losing weight? But really, isn't something only a failure if you made a concerted effort at acheiving it? Because I certainly didn't. I suppose I havn't really failed at anything that was in my control and where I cared deeply about the outcome. I've never really thought about that. It feels pretty good, actually.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
-I was just sick over christmas, and was pretty sick last January (which I had forgotten until some girls in class reminded me the other day that I had to take a test in the hall because my hacking was distracting people) but other than that it was a good year. No trips to the ER!

11. What was the best thing that you bought?
-Hmmm, well, my new wardrobe is right up there. Also my new cell phone. I can honestly say that right now if someone gave me $500 I would just put it in the bank because there is literally nothing, short of a farm, that I want. I managed to finagle my way out of gifts I didn't want and into the ones I did.

12. Whose behaviour merits celebration?
-Katie, Connor, The Amazing Race girls


13. Whose behaviour made you appaled and upset?
-No one's really. Well, some people in my program at school, but that's pretty much par for the course.

14. Where did most of your money go?
-God only knows!

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
-My new cell phone, the new relationship with Connor, the teryaki beef box at our japanese restaurant, having a boyfriend with a chapters discount, my summer job, so many many things.

16. What song will remind you of 2006?
-hmmm, good question. I listen to so much random music that it's difficult to pick something. I think I would say "aside" by the weakerthans, only because I sort of discovered it this year and it led my musical tastes in a bit of a different direction.


17. Compared to last year are you,
a) happier or sadder?
-relatively the same, maybe a little happier.

b)thinner or fatter?
-pretty much the same.

c)richer or poorer?
-I would say that I have more money, and am also richer in those intangible ways that people talk about.

18. What did you wish that you'd done more of?
-Gone out more and done nothing less


19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
-nothing. As in, the act of doing nothing, not "there is nothing I wish I had done less of"

20. How did you spend Christmas?
-woke up, opened presents, watched the queen's message, went to buffalo, had dinner, went to bed at 830 as I was dying of a head cold.

21. How will you be spending New Year's?
-Roomie and I have had discussions about fancy cheese and non-champagne region sparkling wine.

22. Did you fall in love in 2006?
-let's hold off on that one. Unless you mean with handbags.

23. How many one night stands?
-none

24. What was your favourite television program?
-The Amazing Race, sports, re-runs of Grey's anatomy, The office (us version).

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate last year?
-not really

26. What was the best book you read?
-hmmm, again, difficult. I actually didn't do alot of leisure reading for some reason. Or maybe I did and nothing made a strong impression. I really like Rita Mae Brown's fiction about fox hunting though.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
-The weakerthans

28. What did you want and get?
-pretty much everything

29. What did you want and not get?
-nothing that I can think of.

30. What was your favourite film of the year?
-clerks II, For your consideration, The Prize Winner of Defiance Ohio, Half Nelson, The Death of a President

31. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
-March 23 I turned 23...I probably worked on a paper or went out for dinner with roomie..honestly can't remember. I'm not big on birthdays.

32. What's the one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
-Less stress at school I suppose

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept for 2006?
-vastly improved

34. What kept you sane?
-mochafrappachino, roomie, japanese take out, the cottage, naps

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy most?
-I always have and always will have a thing for Dean Cain

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
-The conservatives winning the election :s

37. Who did you miss?
-Vanita, Michelle (from university) ; my dad; my cousin kyle; my brother; people from camp

38. Who was the best new person you met?
-Connor

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
-In the end, it probably matters more to you than it does to the people around you.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

I'm going to have to think about this one

moi at 3:11 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far