2007-01-25

schawarma wars

So many little things to post about. Do up your seatbelts kids, you'll need to pay attention ;)

Item 1) In my neighbourhood, which, let's put it this way for those of you not familiar with Toronto geography, is the destination for an upcoming LGBTQ field trip from my college, there are now 4 competing schawarma establishments. Or at least, 4 establishments that advertise their schawarma offerings. Now, one of them is exclusively a turkish establishment with schawarma is the only offering, other than desserts. A schawarma there, the chicken variety being a particular favourite, costs $4.75.
Across the street there is a pita establishment where I have long maintained that their pitas are overpriced, based on a near $7 dry chicken breast offering I experienced soon after moving here. Once the turkish place across the street moved in, the pita place put a sign out front advertising $3.50 schawarma. Now, I'm fairly sure they didn't even have schawarma before the turkish place across the street came into play. Plus, I dislike it on principle, because they only have it at that price to undercut the competition. I mean, that's all fine and good, but the price for that item isn't anywhere near in line with the rest of their offerings. They artificially dropped the price on that one item just to undercut the nice turkish people who are just trying to make a living with their one offering. Plus, you can watch the schawarma spin! Now, recently a sort of combination mediteranian place moved in where there used to be a Mr. Sub. In my opinion, pretty much anything is an improvement over a Mr. Sub. Roomie and I have yet to sample it, but today I noticed a sign advertising $2.75 schawarma "today only!". Except it was there the other day as well. As far as I can tell from looking in the window, there is no spinning schawarma. Plus, hilarity often ensues when they mis-spell the daily specials along the lines of "stuffed pepars" or "shrimps with vegetebles". There is also a place down the block that we think might be closing that appears to do a brisk trade with the highschool across the street. I don't know how much a schawarma costs there, but they certainly claim to have them. I wonder what it is in my personality that makes me devoted to the highest price offering and brings out my annoyed mood. I think I'd be more ok with it if they had them for the same price but they were better quality or something. I had to edit that whole paragraph when I found out that it wasn't spelled "schwarma". Dang!

Item 2) Stephanie and I saw a man get on the bus today wearing a balaclava (one of those full face touques with eye and mouth holes) with a band-aid on the cheek of the wool part. I was trying to come up with some kind of story about it, like he was doing it a la Nelly so that people would ask him about his jailed brother or perhaps that he had a hole in the fabric or something. It was frightening.

Item 3) At dinner last night with Connor he told the waitress that he was allergic to tomatoes when I told her that we didnt want them on the nachos we were splitting. I thought it was cute. I don't know why.

There was something else.....I'm sure I'll remember.

Right now I'm watching Remains of the Day, thinking about starting homework that I would be way ahead in and trying to figure out where the pounds I gained this week came from.

moi at 4:48 p.m.

previous | next

4 comments so far