2007-02-04

Go Colts.

It has been forever since I updated! This must not continue! The 4 people (including myself) who actually read this must be getting upset! I'll admit to reading my own blog and wondering "I wonder what that blog451 character is up to now!"

I will now attempt a day-by-day summation of the last week. Good luck to all of us!

Monday to Friday- School. Many "this is the last (insert noun)" moments.

Wednesday had beer class and final exam and in class interview assignment for careers class. I was told to smile more (valid) but it was aproximately -50000 degrees kalvin in the room so smiling was the least of my worries.

Wednesday night I went to connor's and despite him being a sick puppy he did wine flash cards with me for half an hour and then we went for nachos and beer at the sports bar to watch the first period of the leafs game.

Thursday morning I lazed around and then at 10am I decided to head to school super early. While leaving the building I was going over things in my head to make sure that I had everything I would need for the class. Study review materials? check. Tasting journal? check. Major assignment worth 25% of my mark? not check. NOT CHECK!!

Not only did I not have it, but I hadn't finished it.

This is how my mind works. If I set out a progression of things that will hapen and then one doesn't, everything after that tends to fall away. Example: I tell roomie I will call her as I'm waiting for the bus after school on my way home. I get a ride. I forget to call roomie because the signal in my brain to call her was waiting for the bus. If that signal doesn't happen then nothing gets signaled and nothing happens.

So this project involved a group member (not me) going to the LCBO and finding out stuff about a wine from 3 different regions of the world. The girl I partnered with went to the LCBO and emailed me most, but not all, of the information we needed. So I emailed her a few times asking for the rest of the information. I thought to myself "when she e-mails me back, I'll flesh (flush?) out the report". She never e-mailed me. So I never finished it.

So I took the next half hour and brought the report up to speed. Well, about 75% of speed, which is fine with me. A 60% is a pass.

I printed it out at school and everything was fine. Phewf!

Friday was a massive waste of time in class and then I went for a beer with a few people from class. Having learned about the horrors of un-cleaned draught lines we all drank from bottles.

NEVER DRINK DRAUGHT IF IT SMELLS LIKE BUTTERSCOTCH. Trust me.

Friday I came stopped at pussateri's for "operation macaroon" to get roomie the chocolate cookies she likes and then came home to a lovely strawberry moose cake she had procured for us. Yummy!

We went to Mammina's for dinner (at wellesley and yonge). It was ok, but very ikea in the mid-80s style decor. Alot of terra cotta blue going on.
They claimed that Christopher Reeve was a frequent patron. It was not wheelchair accessable. That should give you an idea of when it was popular. But still, it was nice.

There was a couple 2 tables to the left of us who we think were a "still in highschool girl and first year boy" who killed a bottle of wine in about a half an hour. By the end of the meal he was trying to feed her the wine "tilt your head back! nooooooo, no hands!". It was amusing until they started to make out across the table.

Roomie and I ALWAYS sit near people who provide us with fodder for conversation well into the next week. Thank goodness, really, because if we didn't we might not have anything to say to eachother. As if.

Saturday I woke up at 5 when roomie was locked out of her work and needed info from the staff list that was in her desk. Decided to be productive and cleaned my room for a while then went to the library for opening at 9am. Got some books about hotel nerd stuff and then came home, watched "so you think you can dance" and then went and hung out with Connor at his office while he did something complicated with excel and SAP.

We went to subway for lunch (mmmmmm tuna melt) and then it took me 45 minutes to get home.

After some drama, my parents showed up to take roomie and I to north44. It was awesome and yummy.

I wore my new brown leather knee boots that I wouldn't want to walk anywhere in but they were ok for a quick grocery shop and walking from the car to the restaurant.

Today (Sunday...hey! almost up to date!) I woke up at 920 or so, discovered that dirty jobs was a rerun (I love shows and books about other people's jobs...it's the voyeur in me) and decided to be uber-productive. I rounded up my laundry and got dressed for the gym. Put the wash in and read my book for 25 minutes ( a book about cadavers..and the people who work with them that roomie got from the library) and then threw the clothes in the dryer and went to the gym. I did the sit down bike for 30 minutes (there was an annoying girl on the treadmill and my foot was hurting, so the bike it was) and then came back to the apartment for a few minutes before I went down to get my stuff from the dryer. Perfect!

I then tried to find someone to meet me for lunch and lucked out when the lovely heather agreed to join me at Zyng. Yummy.

Then on the way home I got shoes for internship (comfy, black, heel. yay!) and then on the way home went for a 25$ pedicure (no polish or anything, just a general scrape and buff)and then came back to the appartment.

I've made pizza dough for pizzas for the superbowl in an attempt to not revert to the drool inducing spray grease of pizza hut. I've also caramelized some onions because no one has paid $5 for a teeny tiny jar of gourmet ones and given them to us lately.

Then I wrote my great aunt and grandmother cards (because everyone loves mail!) and now I'm just waiting for roomie to get home and the game to start at 6:25.

Oh, I'm also soaking the kitchen garbage can in the tub with lysol. We didn't have bleach and vinegar, which would have been my first choice.

I think that's it. I start internship on monday and I'm not entirely sure how much I'm going to report about it, certainly not in any specific way because I've learned my lesson on that one.

moi at 5:12 p.m.

previous | next

1 comments so far