2007-05-14

Do you know who I am?!? I'm Moe Green!

I'm back from the cottage.

Friday we headed out around 11am, drove to Belleville to give my nana a bouquet that my brother made at his new job at the flower store, then we drove over to the cottage so we got in around 330 or so.

Went out for dinner at a restaurant where they wanted me to work last summer but I turned them down for dinner. It was ok, but you could tell it was the start of the season (had to ask for water 4 times, buddy the waiter didn't tell us about the specials, etc) but we know the manager so we were taken care of.

Saturday mom and I went in to town and got gardening supplies, including an $80 chair that scanned at $20 and necessitated an ikea-commercial style "start the carrrr!!!!" as we high-tailed it out of there before they found us to tell us that they scanned it wrong or something.

Also got an awesome rug for my room at this store in this little town near the cottage where they know my mom by name. She has a few stores like that, it's always fun to go around with her and have people say "Marilyn, you have to see these new....whatever".

Saturday night old friend's of my mom's came over for dinner. They were supposed to come at 630 but showed up at 545 so we were a little caught off-guard but it was nice to see them.

Sunday I gave my mom a gift certificate for this coffee place in town that she likes and she headed out to Belleville to help my nana with my papa, who is on oxygen all the time so needs help to shower and whatnot. The drive to belleville is about an hour. So she goes in but then he decides he doesn't want to shower until later so she comes back to the cottage for a couple of hours then drives back to belleville and then drives back to the cottage. Dad and I watched The Godfather on Spike TV all day. It was awesome. I havn't seen it start to end (basically) in forever. I like the first one the best, but dad is partial to the second, so we argued about that as we made dinner.

This morning (Monday) we all got up early (aka...7am) and drove to belleville (1 hr) then mom, nana, papa and I drove to Kingston (1 hr) to take papa to the respirologist. I was super camp-sick as we were driving around Kingston. Le sigh. We then drove back to Belleville (1hr) and then back in to Toronto (2 and a bit hours).

My parents were going to go back to Hamilton but a friend of their's died last week and the visitation was tonight in Toronto so that worked out well (not that it's a good thing or anything, but logistically...)

They dropped me off at the apartment around 330 and I unpacked my mattress foam (so excited)and headed for no-frills. The end of the day is NOT the time to shop there, as all of the club packs of chicken and ground beef were gone. I then headed for korean food, stopping for starbucks and discount produce on the way.

I'm home now, Holmes on Homes is a repeat and I have no plans until Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares at 10.

I have a second interview for the job I really want tomorrow at 11 as well as an interview at a new hotel opening in July ,so that's fun. The only downside is that while I'm down by Connor's office, he is up at the distribution centre in Bramladesh training whoever is going to take over his job when he moves to the IT department.

I'm tired but I'm trying this new "the more I do, the higher my energy level will be" theory. My family is peculiar in that any day involving driving for more than an hour is totally shot. So when roomie makes plans for days that she flies in or out of a city this is entirely foreign to me. The drive from the cottage is about 3 hours, so even if we left at 9am and got home at noon, the whole day would be shot for my parents. I'm rebelling by getting a ton of stuff done as soon as they dropped me off, the only thing I didn't do was pick up a library hold, but it's not open, so you can't blame me! oh, and I've switched to spicy beef and non-spicy pork when I go for the 2 meat combo at Yummy BBQ (the prefered Korean place of the one that I've tried. note to roomie: in place of sidewalk chinese squewer place is now "papaya Thai Cuisine"

moi at 6:06 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far