2007-05-24

Retail Explosion!

Does anyone else find that their computer randomly logs them out of websites that they havn't left? For example, every time I go to add an entry, I log in, click "add an entry" and then I have to log in again. Annoying.

Today is my first "day off" after getting my pay cheque (ok, it was only $134) but still, yay!

Work is actually going really well. I am always a little nervous to actually answer the phones somewhere new, but once I start it's all good. Mostly the problem is that I always think I don't know enough about the property so that I'll be able to answer the person's question properly. Actually, compared to other phone answering jobs I've had, this one has the least amount of question answering expected. Pretty much everyone who has trained me has basically been like "until you're trained on front desk or reservations, just transfer the calls". So pretty much it's just knowing extensions and how to spell the hotel name with 1-866 ahead of it.

The novelty of the fun dress has yet to wear off.

I seem to be getting a decent number of hours, but I'm not sure that they would have someone working if I wasn't being trained, so the hours might decline, I'm not sure. On the other hand, they're getting busy (haha) so maybe they will be looking for people to take more hours. Je ne sais pas.

I'm also doing a bunch of work for the parents, fun times. My mom e-mails me word documents with her vision for a powerpoint presentation and I turn them into a reality. Mostly while in my PJs.

Today I went up to yorkville to get this little le sportsac pouch thing that my shopper consultant says that you put lip stuff, a nail clipper, etc in and then just transfer it from purse to purse. This is an excellent idea, especially for me, the girl with a zillion purses. But they're like $17 and for some reason I'm balking. I want them to be like $8 but I don't think it's going to happen. So I'll either bite the bullet or find something else.

I went in to roots (which I rarely do) and was instantly campsick when I saw their camp stuff right at the front of the store (they do all the camp clothes for one of the big camps up in algonquin). I went wandering and found the corner of maple leafs stuff, which was mostly deeply discounted. The only good that can come of them not making the playoffs. So I got an awesome polarfleece half-zip for like $34 (usually $90) and this sweatshirt dress type thing for $44 (normally $118). Note to readers, if you want leafs merch, get thee to roots bay/bloor. I also saw a coat I think connor would like so I might have to drag him up there some time soon.

Then I walked over to this stationary store that also sells bags, because I'm looking for a replacement for my ratty AE satchel that I got for "free" when I organized a cancer fundraising yard sale at university. I like it because it goes across my chest and has a zipper in the top so it's ideal for hands free shopping. Aaaanyway, they had an awesome black seatbelt tote for 50% off. It was still stupidly expensive, expecially for someone who has, conservatively, a bajillion bags of varying descriptions, but this one is perfectly awesome.

Then I had lunch with the lovely Megan. Cafe Nervosa salad with babyfist size chunks of goat cheese. I held on to my menu and looked the waiter sternly in the eye while I proclaimed "no tomatoes" which is my new tactic to avoid poisoning.

I knew I had books at the library, so I walked over to St. James Town, stopping at the no-frills to pick up popsicles and ended up getting a bunch of stuff for my locker at work, like purell and breath strips. I also got lemon pie filling and graham crackers beacuse I've been craving lemon pie with graham cracker crust for like a week now.

Went to the library, got my books, lugged everything home and collapsed. Watched a bit of Talledaga Nights (pretty funny, actually) and have been working on my power point oddesy.

I also made banana bread. Yum.

moi at 6:35 p.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far