2007-05-27

It's pretty but I don't know where anything is :(

I'm at home with the parents for the weekend to do a bunch of power point work and to go to the doctor on Monday.

For those of you not familiar with the Canadian health system, it's often easier to keep your old family doctor and travel an hour there and back for appointments than it is to find a doctor anywhere near your actual living area. Hence my travel by subway, bus and car just to get a prescription refilled.

The weekend (though only half over) has been mildly frustrating for various reasons. Mostly because I'd rather be in Toronto, living my own little life that I have carved out for myself where I know how to get places and where things are and how they work, as opposed to living in someone else's house and being told that my tone of voice is inappropriate, even though the person telling me that was in no way involved in the conversation I was having and was, in fact, in another part of the house at the time.

Tomorrow I'm going to the doctor then getting the heck back to Toronto in time to watch the first game of the playoffs, maybe by myself, maybe somewhere out with people, we'll see.

I have to go in to work for a 2 hour staff meeting on Tuesday, so that's fun. Then I work Wednesday 11-7, getting home (hopefully) just in time for the 2 hour "so you think you can dance".

I've also e-mailed the woman who runs the horse show at the CNE to see if I can follow up on an offer from her for a part time job for 3 or so weeks this summer, so that would be fun. Plus it would probably get me a pass to get in for free, as opposed to the Royal Winter Fair where, because I was a girl with a backpack and jeans and a baseball cap, I walked right in and no one asked me for a ticket or anything. It helps that I know my way around the barns like the back of my hand...

Today will either be spent in front of the TV watching the Indy 500 (go girls!) or running errands with my mother because she'll probably buy me stuff.

It's actually kind of chilly here this weekend, as opposed to the oppressive heat of Toronto, which makes me upset because I brought the totally wrong clothes AND could have worn my new leafs polar-fleece that I got on super-sale in the retail explosion detailed in my last entry.

Oh! And I didn't even mention Friday night! I had been trying to put together Lunch plans with the lovely Heather but when I got home from work Friday we decided to do dinner and then head up to the highschool where she is student-teaching for this awesome dance show thing that the students put on.

We went to Green Mango and I don't know why I keep trying new things there, I should just get the calamari and the banana/jackfruit rolls and be done with it. Although the chicken asparagus wasn't bad. Then we got on the subway and headed up to her school, which was actually interesting, I like taking buses through random parts of Toronto.

The dance show was actually quite impressive, especially since not a lot of the participants had formal training and were taking the class as a school credit. There was some awesome curtain climbing, some wikid roboting and since we snagged seats directly in front of the fan, we were nice and cool.

I got up and headed out saturday morning around 9 to catch the GO bus to Hamilton, only to discover that the bus was being re-routed because of the scout/guide parade. This turned in to a clusterfuck as no one knew where they were being dropped off, or which way was north (the lake is north people! it's opposite land!). I came home, did power point all day and then stumbled on to an episode of Dirty Jobs I hadn't seen yet and then went to bed.

My parents were at our friend's in Burlington and I was going to try to do something with connor since he was home for a wedding but he was heading back to Toronto since he starts his new job Monday.

Ok, that was long and disjointed. Clearly, working in slide format has caused me to loose my ability to follow a logical train of thought.

moi at 10:34 a.m.

previous | next

1 comments so far