2007-07-17

Is it Karma or just bad luck, and how do I tell?

Yesterday I was scheduled at work from 9 till 5. Anyone in the hospitality business knows how weird and rare a 9 to 5 shift is. It turns out it was because they were testing the fire pannel and speakers in the building next door that is attached to the hotel and they wanted to train me on making the "don't panic!!" announcements but they didn't know exactly when the dudes would come to do the testing.

So I made the announcements, which was kinda fun, actually, then worked till 430 when they sent me home because it was dead and the assistant manager wanted to use the switchboard computer.

So I come home to notices that they are testing the fire speakers in my building on Tuesday (when I'm writing this entry). We had a fire alarm incident the other day that I may or may not have chronicled for you all, followed by a letter saying that someone in the "13 block" (aka, apartments that end in 13) had unhooked the wires to their speaker and if they didn't get re-hooked that they would be testing each speaker individually. Apperently, that's what they are doing today.

So they did the announcement (not as well as I did it, might I add) and then they started piping classical music through the speakers. Except that it's really loud, because, obviously, the thing doesn't really have a volume setting. And while it's nicer than having the siren going off all day, it's also annoying. If it was Holst, we certainly wouldn't have a problem!

So now I'm trying to get in touch with Heather to see if she wants to last-minute-lunch-and-movie with me today, seeing as Hairspray opens today and is showing at the theatre that's 4 blocks from work. Also, there's a chapters right there (one where I coincdenetally met the manager of at a bar with connor one night) and I think I'm an issue behind on my Practical Horseman stash.

In other news, no news on the job #2 interview yet, which sucks, more so because after sending like 5 e-mails to the woman who organizes this big horse show to see if she needed anyone to work, she finally e-mailed me back but I e-mailed her and told her I was no longer interested.

Oh good, now the classical music is interspersed with the firetronics people talking to each other.

Does anyone want to meet me for breakfast? Reply in the commnents by 11am, July 17th.

Also, my neighbour from home is coming in to Toronto to stay over night and I'm trying to sort out a "friends and family" rate for her at the hotel but my manager hasn't called me back yet, even though I left a message for her at like 630am when I was randomly awake.

Oh god, now it's the siren.

Why don't I have a mac I can just throw in my shoulder bag and head out for the day with?!?!

Furthermore, why doesn't Toronto have more free public wireless?!?

moi at 9:40 a.m.

previous | next

0 comments so far